What you should know about Move Over laws
If you’re not completely familiar with current “move over” laws in your state, the good news is that these vehicle laws are becoming more common in the United States.
The Ohio Senate passed S.B. 127 unanimously on Oct. 25, 2018, which resembles other move over vehicle laws that have been enacted around the country. Move over laws protect vehicles and people that are stopped on the side of the road.
Ohio is the 17th state to pass a move over vehicle law. Other states that have passed move over laws include:
- New Jersey
- New York
- North Carolina
- West Virginia
Similar legislation has been proposed or is currently being introduced in other states.
The Ohio move over motor vehicle law requires “all drivers to move over one lane when approaching any vehicle with flashing lights. If moving over isn’t possible, drivers are required to slow down.”
Not just police and fire vehicles
Ohio will include waste and recycling vehicles in its existing move over law. Drivers will have to slow down to pass collection vehicles on the road, or change lanes when possible, if those vehicles are stopped with flashing, oscillating, or rotating lights.
Violation of this law is currently a minor misdemeanor, with more serious misdemeanor classifications for motorists that have received past violations. The starting fines for a minor misdemeanor in Ohio are $150 and go up to $500, with potential jail time, for subsequent violations.
The Move Over program was initially developed by National Waste & Recycling Association and Ohio-based service provider Rumpke, after an employee was killed in a 2013 accident. Waste collection remains the fifth most dangerous occupation in the country.
From 2013-2017, Ohio police patrol cruisers were involved in 58 crashes that appear to be related to the Move Over law. The crashes resulted in the deaths of two civilians and injured 34 civilians and 24 police officers.
Michigan’s Move Over Law
Michigan drivers will be required to slow down when passing an emergency, maintenance or utility vehicle on the side of the road.
A law signed in 2018 by Gov. Rick Snyder requires drivers to slow down by 10 mph (below the posted speed limit) and, if possible, move over one lane when passing police or emergency vehicles on the side of the road.
This law takes effect in February 2019 and replaces a current requirement that drivers proceed with caution and move over when passing such vehicles. Violators will be subject to a $400 fine.
Helping you with more than car accidents
A devastating motorcycle, trucking or car accident injury can happen at any time, and at the law offices of Contrada & Associates, our personal injury attorneys represent clients throughout Northwest Ohio who have suffered injuries in vehicle accidents.
If you are injured and you are having trouble dealing with an insurance company, do not hesitate to contact personal injury lawyer Charles Contrada of Contrada & Associates. For peace of mind and the representation you deserve regarding your motorcycle, truck or car accident, contact us today at 419-841-4400.